Saving the living legends of the Chelsea Hotel NYC

I THINK THIS IS DOPE

The-chelsea-hotel
THE CHELSEA HOTEL IS A LANDMARK IN NYC ESPECIALLY FOR PUNK ROCK AND THERE TRYING TO TEAR IT DOWN BUT MY FRIEND IS TRYING TO SAVE IT
CHECK IT OUT

About this project

*Currently working on a short video to add to this, please be patient…it will be up within a few weeks. I wanted to launch this now though, time is ticking.*

Lists make this much easier:

1. What do I want to do?
Answer:
I will travel to the infamous “Chelsea Hotel” on West 23rd Street, July 6th 2010 to begin living as a semi-permanent resident for 24 + days. I will document the living legends and the history to aide in the effort to save the Chelsea from cultural and spiritual demise. I will speak to not only the residents but also those that have worked there and lend my camera and microphone to give them a platform for their voice to be heard. By preserving this hotel we allow generations to come, to have an opportunity to say “I wrote / filmed / created music/ made a baby / found my lover / got head on an unmade bed ……at the Chelsea Hotel”..

2. What makes you different than the others that have set out to do films about the Chelsea?
Answer:
My film is about focusing on the present and the future of the Chelsea not just it’s past, which seems to be the one common theme in all movies created in regards to the Chelsea Hotel. I want a new generation to regain interest in the Chelsea. I want people to feel a desire to become a legend of The Chelsea Hotel in their own unique and artistic ways. I want our future artists to go there to write, sing and find their souls within the Chelsea Hotel. I will also document myself in a diary like aspect (prior and after interviews), as I reflect my choice to do this and the impression left by each person and the days spent there.

3.. How do you plan on filming this:
Answer: I’m going in armed to the teeth with a camera a microphone and a vision. This is a DIY project as the Chelsea is one itself. The only professional requirements I need will be in the editing department.

5.. What is the money for:
Answer: This gets a list …
(so it’s easy to digest and ask questions if need be which I welcome with open arms!)

1. While I have a camera, if I can get a better one with an audio set up bonus! 2,000
2. Simple lighting 100.00
3. To pay for an editor (I’m simply not equipped to do this yet) 3,000
4. My hotel stay 2,800
5.. Misc (food, transportation and emergency funds) 1,000

Anything I achieve above this will go towards any further editing, marketing costs. My main concern is getting there, getting it filmed and edited / marketed correctly.

If there are any questions what so ever, email me directly. Don’t hesitate as I’m open and honest and look forward to your questions.

ms.lily.hex@gmail.com

www.lilyhex.com
Project location: Chelsea, NY

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saving the living legends of the Chelsea Hotel NYC

  1. Yo…thank you. Did I tell you I appreciate you today? If not, than “NIgel I appreciate you in so many ways. Thank you darlin’ for having my back” Love you to bits for being an amazing friend.

    Xo

    Lily

Leave a Reply

